top of page

Destination Happiness

Destination happiness is a disease, an epidemic that plagues a majority of this country. How many times have we heard - "my life is over if I don't have a 4.0", or one of my favorites - "I'll finally be happy when I am ten pounds lighter". If we continue to reserve our happiness for a later date, we will never truly be happy. This strange realization hit me as I was climbing Arthur's seat. Clawing for air, I finally reached the pinnacle and I am absolutely sure that if I peeked through the clouds I could see heaven. I have always been under the impression that travelling abroad would reveal life's greatest secrets, I would have discovered the 'impetus of life' and yet once I climbed the mountain I realized that my happiness resided in me not in a destination. Some of my favorite memories are rooted in the people I love and the places that are familiar to me. I think travelling has helped me see the natural wonders of the world but also of myself. So yes, the mountain was truly breathtaking, but what it taught me was far more invaluable.

bottom of page