top of page

Santiago's Sheep

“Well, usually I learn more from my sheep than from books” - The Alchemist, a novel by Paulo Coelho.

Although Santiago cherishes his books, he can't help but glean far more from his furry friends. Much like the protagonist of The Alchemist, I have always found solace in reading. Literature offers an escape, an opportunity to travel deeper than the content of a book. Nevertheless, my time in Scotland urged me to harvest knowledge from what lay outside my weathered paperback. The Edinburgh Post is a compilation of lessons learned from the natural world. Perhaps 'my sheep' symbolize the potential of learning through observation, as well as the importance of assessing even the seemingly unimportant aspects of life. As my study abroad experience comes to an end, I would like to thank Kristi, the Top Scholar program, Dr.Lickley and Adelante for serving as a constant system of support, whether it be through funding or providing wonderful opportunities. I appreciate all the love I have received on my posts and I wholeheartedly believe that my time in Scotland has been life changing.

bottom of page